Remembering Rosa Parkin x

rosasmagic Rachel writes – It was with great sadness, we learnt of Rosa’s passing on Sept 6th 2015, after fighting a rare form of cancer over the last two years. I want to honour her memory & work with DNA, and the wonderful woman she was.

rosa, artworks 024Rosa worked as DNA’s tour developer and producer from 1999 – 2008, and took DNA’s work into Europe, memorably to Framces’s Chalon Dans La Rue festival, the year of the artists strike, where we performed with the Uk’s National Theatre collective, and tours of Spain with Tanit Teatro. She was responsible for developing the presentation of DNA’s shows at the Uk’s top festivals, Glastonbury, Bestival,  Green Man & many others.

brochureWithout Rosa, the Puppets a GoGo! tent would never have been born, and with the help of her then partner Dadu, who created the entrance way, sorted our electrics and fit up, plus customised the DNA van, we toured the Uk festivals for over 5 years with a rich programme of sell out acts for all ages.

curious crowdsRosa also created all the amazing DNA publicity for our shows, designing promotional material, and filming and editing our videos. She always had her eye on quality, unique & interesting images that made the DNA brand image and sold our touring shows.

turnipgrass2-300dpibabanew5 02puss2newdrnosesmallatishoo!Ball-Pond-Publicity-imageRosa was amazing to work with, so gifted and talented, she always did everything 110% and made so many of my dreams for DNA come true. She took DNA’s first steps to Australia, attending an APAM producers conference and beginning our International touring. Later, she trained as a magician, creating her own unique storytelling magic shows. She was truly magical and no one who met her could resist her smile, warmth, love and laughter. I am deeply grateful for knowing her, and everything she did for DNA, as a friend and professional.

rosa, artworks 019With love and sincere condolences to all her family & friends, all those who knew her magic x

Do not stand at my grave and weep
I am not there. I do not sleep.
I am a thousand winds that blow.
I am the diamond glints on snow.
I am the sunlight on ripened grain.
I am the gentle autumn rain.
When you awaken in the morning’s hush
I am the swift uplifting rush
Of quiet birds in circled flight.
I am the soft stars that shine at night.
Do not stand at my grave and cry;
I am not there. I did not die.

This entry was posted in Festivals, touring and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

