Queenie’s success at The Waterside

I had a fantastic day yesterday (Saturday 5th March) performing The Frog Prince & Other Peculiar Tales in my hometown of Trafford. On a lovely buzzy morning Steve & I drove up from Beeston with our lovely green van which I have now christened MeVanWe (I have Welsh ancestory) to Sale to perform at its Waterside Venue.

I know the team very well and was immediately welcomed by Joel the technician and a thumpingingly, groovy drumming workshop being held as we arrived.  I love this venue and the warmth it extends to family audiences.

Well, Frog Prince went down a storm – the children loved my character Queenie and her storytelling antics.  The mums, dads, grandmas, grandads, carers and friends absolutely howled at my really charming Frog Waltz.  I did notice some friends of mine in the audience dabbing their eyes with tissues – hopefully with warm adoration and not hysteria! The children also loved the Rainbow Cat which makes an appearance in the final story of the piece.

Queenie loves her Golden Ball

I am really taken during this tour for DNA Puppetry & Visual Theatre at the delight shown in lots of dads and grandads who relish the moments of audience participation in the show.  It is so gorgeous when the adults “join in” to the embarrassment of their offspring!

The Rainbow Cat peers over at The Mask Girl

So, onwards with my trusted MeVanWe to The Tricycle Theatre in London for 2 shows on the 9th April.  And in between lots of Rest & Relaxation at home, and a number of exciting new ventures.

Liz Fitzgerald-Taylor

This entry was posted in Art, Blackpool, blogging, Childrens Theatre, early years, Education, Events, Harris, Tate, touring, Youth Theatre. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

